jump to navigation

ISLMA, Wikis, and Google Forms. Oh, my! April 28, 2010

Posted by fafeeley in Uncategorized.
trackback

Tonight I submitted the following proposal to present at the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA) Conference in the fall.

Here is the proposal…

Web 2.0: Have no fear!

5th-8th grades

Successful curriculum projects using online tools will be showcased with student work products. Web 2.0 tools featured include Voicethread (digital storytelling), Glogster (interactive digital posters), Wallwisher (online bulletin boards), Wikispaces (wikis), and online data collection (Google Forms). Connect these tools to your curriculum. Find out how easy it all is!

I have made some progress on my school library wiki. Check it out here: http://iamslibrary.wikispaces.com/

It’s a work in progress. Wikispaces is a great tool! In under an hour I was using it with ease.

I also tried my hand at Google Forms tonight. Very easy! The following took me about ten minutes:

http://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?formkey=dGRZaEFQRHZpT2hjX0c0WjBSN3JKeHc6MQ

This week I will be working on my wiki and maybe a few more Google Forms. My 6th graders are just about ready to start creating their Voicethreads based on their research on famous women in history.

In the next couple of weeks I will begin work with 8th graders using Voicethread and Glogster.

Comments»

1. Lisa Perez - April 28, 2010

Fran: Great post! Your wiki looks great (and you inspired me with some of your design elements). Check your spelling of “announcements”. Loved the google form. I hope your proposal gets accepted at ISLMA.

Can you do a post on your library’s use of iPods? I’d like to share it with Jeremy. (I shared this one, too.)


Leave a Reply

