jump to navigation

Wiki time April 21, 2010

Posted by fafeeley in Uncategorized.
trackback

We are in the middle of  an assignment to create wikis about our libraries. I want to make it immediately useful as well as flexible.

One of my last library school classes at Dominican University in the summer of 2005 was a web design class. By the time the class started I was already hired to work at King Lab Magnet School in Evanston in the fall. So I created a great big web page for the school library. We did all of our web design projects the “old fashioned way” using html. It was slow and painstaking but I acquired a good appreciation for what’s going on “behind the scenes” on websites. The website I created for King Lag School was used during the year I worked there and at least one year after I left. Since coming on board at Inter-American Magnet School I have not created a library web page. The school itself didn’t even have a page for more than two years after the school relocated to a new building. Relocating a school is very, very difficult, and it takes a few years for everything to settle down. I had so many balls in the air, and I didn’t want to take ownership of the school website for many reasons, including the fact that I would be spending a lot of my time translating any and all text that is posted on the site (into English or Spanish). Now seems to be the perfect time for me to finally build a site for a few reasons: 1.) I have been in my school library long enough to know exactly what content will have the most impact; 2.) I can act independently of the school website and arrange for a tab or a link on the official school site to link to my site; and 3.) Wikispaces is a very easy tool to use and provides free storage on its server.

I am going to work on my wiki and will have something to show in a few days. Given the numerous categories of content and the need for everything to be in Spanish and English, I plan to get started this spring and really flesh it out over the summer.

Comments»

1. Lisa Perez - April 21, 2010

Fran: I look forward to seeing your wiki. Wow, you know HTML! That is something I never had time to learn.

Lisa


Leave a Reply

