jump to navigation

The Agony and the Ecstasy March 6, 2010

Posted by fafeeley in Uncategorized.
trackback

The use of technology is often the agony and the ecstasy.

For example, today’s agony was struggling way too long to figure out how to insert a Creative Commons license onto my blog entry. And the ecstasy? Suddenly noticing an html tab in the area where I create blog posts, inserting the html provided by Creative Commons, and seeing the CC license magically appear in my blog post (see below!).

ALSO from today, the agony – struggling to figure out how to use Creative Commons licensing on FLICKR. And the ecstasy? Receiving a comment about a blog post from earlier today from the ONE AND ONLY friend who subscribes to my blog which explains how to do it! I am having a digital global community moment here!

I still enjoy iPhone ecstasy when I send and receive texts, e-mails, and photos; take photos; check the moon phase; map my way to anywhere; use the voice commands; use the voice activated Google application (really, it kills me every time); and travel near and far knowing that ALL my information and ALL my communications options are at hand. The agony? Dropped calls, Cubs games, and street fairs.

I have been enjoying the ecstasy of the new laptop computers installed in my library computer lab. The agony here is that I ordered a new Dell desktop with all the bells and whistles for my home from Dell five weeks ago when I was first admitted to the Technology ELITE program, but the delivery date has been pushed back twice already. My six-year-old computer is on its last legs and can’t keep up with my demands.

Classroom ecstasy: demonstrating online resources with a computer and a projector to a riveted student audience! The agony? A one-day late fee of $.20 (that’s twenty CENTS) at the public library (resulting from an overdue book club title) preventing me from accessing the online databases provided by the Chicago Public Library while being filmed for my national board certification.

When if fails, it’s catastrophic  (okay, not catastrophic but at least inconvenient!). When it works it’s miraculous (truly, miraculous).

I stumbled upon an article this week (not in the usual Google reader way) but on PBS.org

http://www.pbs.org/idealab/2010/03/pew-report-shows-mobile-news-use-spreading-in-us060.html

Twenty-six percent of American adults are reading news content every day on cell phones (not 26% of cell phone users – 26% of the general adult population). These “on the go” types tend to use their mobile devices in robust ways and get news from a variety of sources and a variety of platforms. Reading the news on a cell phone was not one of my reasons for upgrading to a better phone, but the iPhone apps for the New York Times, NPR, and the Huffington Post are among my most used and enjoyed applications. In this case the ecstasy is having something to engage my mind even on the rare occasion when I am without a book. The agony? Tired eyes.

Check out my VERY COOL Creative Commons licensing!!!

Creative Commons License
Fran Feeley’s Blog by Francis A. Feeley is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Comments»

1. Lisa Perez - March 7, 2010

Kudos for getting the CC widget into the blog. You should post the directions in the ning, so others can follow suit, if they want. Here’s to more ecstacy than agony in the future….

2. colleenherman - March 8, 2010

I didn’t know you were doing National Boards. That is pretty exciting, I have a few classroom teacher friends doing it and I would love to hear more about it. I enjoyed your post and whole heartedly agree that technology (and life in general) can give you a when you’re up – you’re up and when you’re down – you’re down. Looking forward to seeing you on Thursday!

fafeeley - March 8, 2010

Thanks, Colleen! I completed the national certification process last year and was approved in November. I would be very glad to talk to you about it. It was a really great experience. Let’s talk more about it on Thursday.

3. Second Life: Meet Paco Asadar! « Fran Feeley's Blog - March 17, 2010

[…] arrived after three delays. I knew when it finally came it would be a mix of joy and anguish (see The Agony and the Ecstasy). Most of the data transfer effort went well, but I really struggled with transferring Microsoft […]


Leave a Reply

